How to Mount a Hard Drive on Linux
If you have a hard drive that contains important data or that you want to use for storage, you may need to mount it on your Linux computer. Mounting a hard drive allows you to access its contents and use it as if it were a part of your computer’s file system. In this guide, we will show you how to mount a hard drive on Linux using simple commands in the terminal.
On Linux, the mount command is used to attach a filesystem to a specific directory in the system’s file hierarchy. When a filesystem is mounted, its contents become accessible to the system and its users.
Mounting a filesystem typically involves specifying the device or partition that contains the filesystem, as well as the directory where it should be mounted.
Step 1: Connect Hard Drive
First, connect the hard drive to your computer if it is not already connected.
Step 2: Open Terminal
Open the terminal by pressing Ctrl + Alt + T on your keyboard or by searching for it in the applications menu.
Step 3: Check Hard Drive
Check if the hard drive is detected by running the following command:
sudo fdisk -l
Step 4: Get Device Name
Look for the hard drive in the list of devices. It will be listed as something like /dev/sdb or /dev/sdc. Make a note of the device name.
Step 5: Create Directory
Create a directory where you want to mount the hard drive by running the following command:
sudo mkdir /mnt/harddrive
Step 6: Mount Hard Drive
Mount the hard drive to the directory you just created by running the following command:
sudo mount /dev/sdb /mnt/harddrive
Note: Replace /dev/sdb with the device name you noted in step 4. You should now be able to access the contents of the hard drive by navigating to the /mnt/harddrive directory.
Step 7: (Optional) Unmount Hard Drive
If you want to unmount the hard drive, run the following command:
sudo umount /mnt/harddrive
Note: If you want the hard drive to be mounted automatically every time you boot your computer, you can add an entry for it in the /etc/fstab file. However, this requires some additional configuration and is beyond the scope of this guide.
Mounting a hard drive on Linux may seem intimidating at first, but it is a relatively simple process that can be completed using just a few terminal commands. By following the steps outlined in this guide, you can mount your hard drive and access its contents with ease. Remember to unmount the hard drive before disconnecting it to avoid data loss. With this knowledge, you can use your hard drive to store and access data, expand your storage capacity, or transfer files between different computers running Linux.
Please Leave Feedback and Corrections in the Comments
More to Explore
How to Access Google Drive on Ubuntu
Google Drive has become an essential tool for many users, allowing them to store and access files in the cloud and collaborate with others.
10 Linux Terms You Must Know
When getting started with Linux, you’ll encounter a variety of unique terms and concepts that are crucial to understanding the Linux ecosystem.
How to Check Hardware Information on Linux
Getting detailed information about your Linux system’s hardware is essential for troubleshooting, optimizing performance, and upgrading components.
How to Run Android on Ubuntu
Running Android on Linux can be a useful way to access Android apps and games on your Linux machine or test and develop Android applications.
How to Listen to Internet Radio on Linux
Internet radio offers a vast array of music, news, and talk stations from around the world.
How to Recover Deleted Files on Linux
Accidentally deleting important files is a common issue that many users face.
How to Access a Remote Linux Machine From Windows
Accessing a remote Linux machine from a Windows computer can be a useful skill for various tasks.
7 Mistakes New Linux Users Make
Linux is a powerful and versatile operating system that offers a wealth of benefits, including increased security, flexibility, and customization.
How to View WebP Images on Ubuntu
WebP is an image format developed by Google that provides superior compression and faster loading times compared to other image formats.